Europe Edges Lower; FTSE 100 Outperforms

Europe Edges Lower; FTSE 100 Outperforms

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets traded slightly lower Wednesday amid weak economic data, while better than expected earnings helped the U.K. to outperform. At 4:35 AM ET (0835 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.1% lower, France’s CAC 40 fell 0.2%,...
UK factories suffer worst month in three decades

UK factories suffer worst month in three decades

By Ritu, Capital Sands British manufacturers suffered the biggest fall in output and orders for at least three decades in April, as measures to slow the spread of the new coronavirus sent the economy into a steep downturn, a survey showed on Friday. April’s...
Europe Edges Higher; Central Bank Meetings Loom

Europe Edges Higher; Central Bank Meetings Loom

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets edged higher Wednesday, with investors cautiously optimistic ahead of key central bank meetings and as the earnings season continues. At 4:15 AM ET (0815 GMT), the U.K.’s FTSE index traded 0.7% higher, France’s...
Europe Edges Higher; Central Bank Meetings Loom

Europe Posts Gains as Reopenings Draw Nearer

By Ritu, Capital Sands European stock markets pushed higher Wednesday amid signs the region’s economic shutdown may be coming to an end, but turmoil in the oil market continued to demand a degree of caution.. At 4 AM ET (0800 GMT), the U.K.’s FTSE index traded...